District Awards Presentation – 22nd September 2021

Date: 28th Sep 2021 Author: Heather Jones

At the close of the District AGM, held virtually by Zoom on Wednesday 22nd September, we held a Virtual Presentation of Awards (Length of Service Awards, Local Awards, Good Service Awards and Wood Badges). We had very much hoped to have been able to gather in person to make these presentations face to face; but once again (although hopefully for the last time!) it was not to be.

All the Awards and Wood Badges listed below were announced and celebrated on 22nd September in the (virtual) presence of 40 members of the District and the County Commissioner Richard Williams. In some cases the person receiving the Award was part of the Zoom call and heard the announcement for themselves; in other cases they will be contacted and congratulated shortly. The physical delivery or presentation to the relevant recipient of each certificate, badge, medal and/or set of Wood Beads will be arranged in the course of the next few weeks.

NB: For those who missed the event, a video recording of the Awards presentation will be made available via a link on this page as soon as possible.

The District Commissioner, Heather Jones, was delighted to congratulate members of Ealing and Hanwell District as follows:


Chief Scout’s Length of Service Award:  5  years   

Richard Baker – 25th Ealing

Jacqueline McKenna – District Secretary

Brian Duffy – 5th Hanwell

Tasneem Outten – 6th Ealing

Ian Duckworth – 1st Hanwell

Mark Howson – 1st Hanwell & Walter Davies

Petros Katradis – 9th Ealing


Chief Scout’s Length of Service Award: 10 years

Nigel Woodward – 16th Ealing

Mandy Combes – 5th Hanwell & Deputy District Commissioner


Chief Scout’s Length of Service Award: 15 years

Peter Hyde – 1st Hanwell

Caroline Lumb – 7th Hanwell


Chief Scout’s Length of Service Award: 25 years

Mentioned tonight,  but previously awarded in July 2021

Heather Jones, 16th Ealing & DC

Ben Pearson, previously District Section Leader & DC, plus ongoing GLMW role


Rosanna Elliot – District Executive, and 1st Ealing North


Chief Scout’s Length of Service Award: 30 years

Robert Coomber – District Appointments Advisory Committee Chair


Chief Scout’s Length of Service Award: 50 years

Christopher Cosstick – District Vice President


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Wood Badges

Since September 1919 adult volunteers in the Scouts have been awarded the Wood Badge on the completion of their leader training.   The basic badge is made up of two wooden beads worn at the end of a leather lace (although modern materials may nowadays replace actual wood and actual leather)

The Wood Badge’s design took inspiration from a necklace brought back from Africa by Scouting’s Founder, Robert Baden-Powell.

The role listed below is that for which the Wood Badge was awarded as adults can receive additional Wood Badges when they complete their training for additional roles. Those marked with a * are for an additional role so the adult does not receive another actual set of wood beads.

(In the order announced on 22nd September)

David Cleverly – Assistant Section Leader, 9th Ealing

Lior Duby – Cub Scout Leader, 1st Ealing North

Neil Gosrani, Assistant Section Leader, 1st Ealing North

Christine Upfold, Beaver Scout Leader, 8th Hanwell

Karl Sampat, Scout Leader, 1st Hanwell

Andrew Jeffs, Assistant Section Leader, 1st Ealing North

Jeanette Joyce, Assistant Section Leader, 9th Ealing – Wood Beads (certificate previously presented)

Sergio Garrido-Lestache* – District Section Leader, Explorer Scouts (Young Leaders)

Nuria Belinchon* – District Section Leader, Explorer Scouts (Young Leaders)

Mandy Combes* – District Deputy Commissioner (Additional Manager Wood Badge)

Adrian Walker* – Section Leader, Scouts, 7th Hanwell

Malcolm Turner* – Deputy Group Scout Leader (Additional Manager Wood Badge)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Local Awards 

in recognition of particular service to Ealing and Hanwell


Commissioner’s Commendation –

Youth Award

Jonathan Slater, 7th Hanwell Scouts


Commissioner’s Commendation –

Adult Awards

Brian Duffy, 5th Hanwell

Claudia Moore, 5th Hanwell

Akil Hewitt, 5th Hanwell

Ann Lazarow, 1st Ealing North

Sergio Garrido-Lestache, District Section Leader & 7th Hanwell

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Good Service Awards



The Chief Scout’s Commendation for Good Service

Andrew Schutz, 7th Hanwell

Rob Scoynes, 8th Ealing and District Youth Commissioner

Aoife  Nguyen, 8th Ealing

Martin Truss, 8th Ealing and District Cub Leader


The Award for Merit

David Hurley, 7th Hanwell

Caroline Lumb, 7th Hanwell


The Silver Acorn

Mary Power

9th Ealing, District Executive and various other District & County roles


The Bar to the Silver Acorn

Diana Ljubisic

9th Ealing plus various District and County roles




Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls